The Beginning of a Love Affair

Janice Gill
4 min readMay 15, 2018

How I found my passion for Photography.

Robin at Llanfair Caereinion.

I didn’t mean to fall in love.

I already had a passion. I didn’t think there was enough time for another especially with bringing up a family of 4 alone. It was already hard enough to find any time to spare for dreams.

Photography was a way to record the world around me and inform my real passion, painting. Photography, I thought, could never be as expressive as painting. It could never say as much about the emotional connection I had with the world. It was a tool to use to remind me of the details, a quick sketch with everything faithfully recorded. An adjunct to my sketchbook.

Wave Sketch

Photography was also a way to record events, especially family gatherings, high days and holidays. A reminder to look back on fun times and smile. It was also a way to produce great images of my other crafts.

That changed with the photograph at the top of a European Robin taken with my first Digital SLR camera. It wasn’t instant by any means, but somehow this picture changed what was possible for me. This was more than just an image. It was taken 10 years ago when I was still living in Wales. Since then I…

--

--

Janice Gill

Award winning Artist and Photographer still learning and evolving. Blogging the journey.